Wayne State University

Academy of Teachers

The WSU Academy of Teachers seeks to create and sustain a culture of teaching excellence based on the diffusion and implementation of evidence-driven, inclusive, and student-centered pedagogical and curricular practices across the university.


  • Support the professional development of faculty and instructors, and the recognition and reward of excellence in teaching and learning at WSU
  • Provide an effective means for sharing information, ideas, and proven strategies to promote excellence in teaching and learning
  • Serve as an advisory group to the Provost on matters related to teaching and learning and policies that affect recognition and reward
  • Assess and promote institutional-, college-, and department-level structures that honor and reward excellence in teaching and learning.
  • Provide a conduit for institutional change to support teaching excellence 


  • The WSU Academy of Teachers (hereafter referred to as the Academy) will be launched with 3 to 5 charter members appointed by the Provost or his designee(s).
  • These founding members of the Academy will create the Charter of the WSU Academy of Teachers and submit their proposal to the Board of Governors for adoption. 
  • Membership thereafter will be nominated and selected in accordance with the Academy's Bylaws. (The academy will accrue no more than 3 new members each academic year.)
  • Eligibility:
    1. All WSU tenure system and full-time, long-term instructors are eligible.
    2. Minimum of 5 years of full-time service in a capacity that includes, but is not limited to, undergraduate instruction at WSU.
    3. Evidence of leadership in promoting excellence in teaching and learning at the department, school/college, and/or institutional level (e.g., college or institution level awards for teaching such as the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching). Instructional excellence may also be demonstrated by documented efforts to innovate and take risks to promote instructional excellence.
    4. Recognized for significant impact on the WSU undergraduate learning experience beyond one's individual courses (i.e., able to demonstrate impact on the department, school/college, and/or university levels).
    5. It is expected that Academy members will be representative of the rich array of teaching and learning environments at WSU (e.g., traditional, hybrid and online classrooms; studios; labs; and clinical settings).


  • Members receive a one-time honorarium (TBD) upon induction. 
  • Members retain the recognition of Member, WSU Academy of Teachers for life.
  • Members will collaborate with the Office for Teaching and Learning to present/co-present at least 2 workshops on teaching and learning related topics of their choice during the course of the first 3 years of membership in the WSU Academy of Teachers. This may, for example, be participation in an annual WSU Teaching Summit.

Applications for 2018 were due February 28, 2018.

The WSU Academy of Teachers Selection Committee is pleased to announce the 2018 members: