The Office for Teaching and Learning carries out its mission to foster a community of educators at Wayne State University where the success of all students is supported by a culture of teaching excellence, inclusiveness, and shared vision by collaborating and being an integral part of various committees at the university. 

3N Committee on Online Learning

OTL committee member: Sara Kacin

The 3N Committee on Online Learning was charged by the Provost, Keith Whitfield, with support from American Association of University Professors (AAUP), Union of Part-Time Faculty (UPTF) and Faculty Senate to leaern about institutional efforts to date in order to create and finalize a report of recommendations to the Provost. The committee solicited key recommendations for the final report, which includes a set of five mutually agreed upon recommendations from each of the committee's stakeholder apointees (namely AAUP, UPTF and Administration).

Academic Technology Advisory Group

OTL committee member: Sara Kacin

The Academic Technology Advisory Group (ATAG) assists in shaping academic technology services, support, policy and direction at WSU. The advisory group's scope includes all technology topics that promote the intellectual and educational mission of WSU. Membership consists of two representatives from each school and college at WSU. ATAG meetings are held two times per academic year each fall and spring.

Accessibility Action Team

OTL committee members: Krystal Tosch & Tonya Whitehead

The Accessibility (A11y) Action Team is committed to ensuring inclusiveness, with the goal of providing an accessible, usable, and welcoming environment to al on campus. The action team's scope includes accessibility topics of all ranges: web, facilities, teaching and learning, and technology. The action team meets once per month.

Celebration of Longform Scholarship

OTL committee member: Christy Hartman

The Celebration of Longform Scholarship recognizes authored or edited longform publications as well as works of art, dance, sound, or other media that were publicly produced or performed in the past year.  This annual event is a collaboration between the Office for Teaching and Learning, the Wayne State University Library System, the Wayne State University Press, the Theatre and Dance Department, and the Office of the Provost.  The inaugural Celebration was held October 11, 2018.

Data Governance Steering Committee

OTL committee member: Sara Kacin

The Data Governance Steering Committee (DGSC) serves in an advisory capacity to the Information Systems Management Committee (ISMC) on strategic Data Governance matters and conflict resolution.  This committee is also responsible for selecting and appointing members of the Data Governance Core Committee.


OTL committee member: Krystal Tosch

The Echo360 group assists in ensuring that lecture capture services using Echo360 Classroom Capture and Universal Capture are going smoothly for all departments across campus. Membership consists of a representative from any school, college or unit with an Echo360 administrator. The meetings are held monthly during the fall and winter semesters.

University Assessment Council

OTL committee members: Sara Kacin & Tonya Whitehead

The University Assessment Counsil promotes and supports program assessment by:

  1. Communicating assessment best practices, requirements, deadlines, resources, and opportunities for support to the university community,
  2. Reviewing the quality of school/college/division assessment progress and plans,
  3. Identifying individuals and programs that merit recognition for their assessment work,
  4. Collecting, reporting, and using evidence of Wayne State's assessment practices to improve those practices across campus and to support accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission, and
  5. Advising the Director of Assessment regarding strengths and weaknesses of assessment plans and processes.